The Dharmarajka Trust Foundation To meet the needs of the orphans, poor and destitutes who are residing at Sharmarajika Orphanage. | The Dharmarajka Trust Foundation To impart higher education to the inmates of the Orphanage so that they can build-up their future lives through self-dependency. | The Dharmarajka Trust Foundation To provide Food, Shelter, Clothes, Health Services, education and accommodation of the inmates of the Orphanage.

In 1947 India was divided into 2 states, namely India and Pakistan. The Buddhists were included in Pakistan mainly in East Pakistan. Before 1947 the Buddhist activities were concentrated in Calcutta, which was not included in Pakistan. In order to guide the Buddhists in a newly born State Pakistan a Religious and Socio-Cultural Organisation was badly needed. The leaders of the Buddhist Community and the senior members of the Triratnankur Samity (Monk's Association) came to historic decision to form an organization for the Buddhists. The aim of the formation of the organization is to guide and protect the Buddhists. There were series of meetings held at Hoarapara Sudharshan Vihar, West Aburkhil Ajanta Vihar, Dharmananda Vihar, Mohamuni Vihar and finally a concensus was originated to establish an organization in a meeting held in West Aburkhil Ajanta Vihar, Raozan, Chittagong in 1949 in the name and style of – EAST PAKISTAN BOUDDHA KRISTI PRACHAR SANGHA. With this end in view an organizing committee set-up headed by H . H. Sanghanayaka Dharmadorshi Mahathero at a meeting at Lakhera Abhoy Vihar, Patiya, Chittagong in 1949. In 1950 first committee of the organization was born with Most Ven. Visuddhananda Bhikkhu (Later H. H. Mohasanghanayaka Visuddhananda Mahathero). In this way. This historical organization came to existence.

Dharmarajika Buddhist Monastery, Atisha Dipankar Sarak, Sabujbag, Dhaka-1214 is the Head Quarter of BBKPS which is the serene home for peace and inter-religious harmony.  


1.  Year of Establishment  ::   1949 
2.  Year of Affiliation with WFB  ::   1950 
3.  Year of Affiliation with ABCP  ::   1972 
4.  Name of the Founding Office Bearers   ::  
President   ::   Ven. Visuddhananda Bhikkhu (Later Mahathero)
Vice President   ::   Prof. Surendra Nath Barua
    ::   Adv. Umesh Chandra Mutsuddhi
    ::   Roy Saheb Lalit Mohan Barua
    ::   Prof. Munindra Lal Barua
    ::   Mr. Faipru Chowdhury
General Secretary   ::   Ven. Bangisha Bhikkhu
Joint General Secretary   ::   Mr. Prafulla Kamal Barua
Treasurer   ::   Mr. Nripendra Bijoy Barua
Auditor   ::   Mr. Prikriti Ranjan Barua

President & Secretary General since establishment upto 2013 :

President  ::   H. H. Mahasanghanayaka Visuddhananda Mahathero (1950-1994).
    ::   H. H. Sanghanayaka Suddhananda Mahathero (1994-Till now).
General Secretary ::   1. Ven. Bangisha Bhikkhu, B.A. (1950-1962)
  ::   2. Mr. D. P. Barua (1963-1970)
General Secretary ::   4. Mr. Sudhangshu Bimal Barua (1973-1975)
Acting Secretary General ::   5. Ven. Suddhananda Mahathero (1981-84)
Secretary General ::   6. Dr. Pranab Kumar Barua (1975-Till now)

Major Achievements ::

1. Establishment of Dharmarajika Buddhist Monastery, Dhaka in 1962.
2. Establishment of Nava Pandit Vihar, Chittagong in 1978.
3. Establishment of Bangladesh Temple in Bodhgaya, India in 1990.
4. Installation of Holy Ash Relics (Remains of Great Buddhist Scholar of 10th Century  Atisha Dipankar at its Head Quarter      Dharmarajika Buddhist Monastery brought from Great China in 1978.
5. Organised First Buddhist Conference at Shillok, Rangunia, Chittagong in 1950.
6. Organised International Buddhist Conference on the occasion of 1000th Birth Anniversary of Atisha Dipankar in 1983.         About 100 Delegates from 21 different Countries of the world participated.
7. Organised International Seminar on Paharpur Buddhist Heritage in 1987 where 70 foreign delegates participated.
8. Organised Platinum Jubilee of H. H. Mahasanghanayaka Visuddhananda Mahathera and H. H. Sanghanayaka                    Suddhananda Mahathero internationally in 1990 and 2012.
9. Establishment of Dharmarajika Kindergarten, Dharmarajika Primary and High Schools.
10. Establishment of High Schools at Dhaka, Patiya, Rangunia.
11. Establishment of Dharmarajika Orphanage, Dhaka.
12. Establishment of Dharmarajika Lalit Kola Academy, Dhaka.
13. Establishment of Dharmarajika Nikkho Niawno Clinic, Dhaka.
14. Establishment of Visuddhananda Welfare Trust.
15. Erected 38’ Height Standing Buddha Statue in Dharmarajika in 2012.
16. Establishment of Dharmarajika Trust Foundation in 2013.
17. Organised First Buddhist Youth Conference at Nava pandit Vihar, Chittagong held in 1980.